The MG Car Club MG Car Club


Race Reports 2024

Donington Park May 11th


After a very long winter break, twenty drivers signed on for the first round of the Cockshoot Cup Championship 2024. The race was run at a meeting organised by MSVR at the wonderful Donington Park Circuit. Fine weather which was to last all day greeted the drivers as they entered the circuit for qualifying along with a handful of Seats over from Ireland. Dave Morrison is seeking a hat trick of championships and to do so has moved into Class C. Within three laps he had set a time good enough for pole position. Ray Collier secured the other spot on the front row with his MG ZR190. The second row was filled by MGFs with Mark Wright just ahead of Tom Church. Quickest in the newly defined Class A was Leon Wignall in his ZR170 ahead of Tony Robert’s ZS170. There were only two runners in the new Class B with Ian Whitt quickest but then unable to take further part in the meeting. Class F for standard MGFs was headed by new driver James Brown from Gareth Jones and Andrew Walsh.

Race One

The Cockshoot Cup drivers started their race at the drop of the flag following the departure of the Seats. The Midgets and MGFs got the best starts pushing Ray Collier down the field, but a stunning first lap from David Morrison gave him a good lead which he held throughout the twenty minute race. Chris Greenbank was sadly an early retirement followed by Mark Wright in his MGF Cup Car. Ray forced his way through to second place by the end of the race with Tom Church finishing third in his MGF followed by Keith Egar’s Midget in fourth. Leon Wignall dominated Class A but was chased down by Tony Roberts who got quicker and quicker as the race went on being awarded Driver of the Race for his efforts. The yellow MG ZR170s of Mark Bellamy and Helen Waddington were third and fourth in Class. The only Class B finisher was Carl Chadwick who had a good race after problems in qualifying. In Class F, Phil Rigby was unable to start with the class being won by James Brown having a great run. Second in Class was Andrew Walsh and third went to Laura Farrow having her first ever race.

Race Two

Mark Wright, Chris Greenbank and Tony Ryalls were all non-starters for race two. In a repeat of race one, David Morrison flew into the lead when the flag dropped and dominated the race to take maximum points from the day. David was awarded Driver of the Race for his performance. Ray Collier once again got swamped at the start but managed to come through the field and take second in Class C and the race. Tom Church lost time with a spin at Redgate so Keith Egar was able to take the last podium position although he was being chased down by Eliza Seville over the final laps. In Class A, Leon again beat Tony on the road, but the result was reversed as Leon was given a time penalty for exceeding track limits. Mark Bellamy and Helen Waddington were again third and fourth in Class. Carl Chadwick had an ever better race taking Class B again. The Class F winner from race one James Brown took a second Class victory was pushed by Gareth Jones who had retired from race one. Andrew Walsh was third with Laura Farrow fourth.